Chicago Sports Inside and Out – The Chicago Sports Maven

Bringing Chicago sports to the world!

Grading the SportsMaven’s 2007 NCAA Basketball Tourney Picks

Posted by sportsmaven on March 27, 2007

So now is the time to really see if the SportsMaven knows his stuff in college hoops. Below are my 2007 NCAA picks for this season’s men’s basketball tournament. I have to say that I think I did pretty well with my picks. On second though, I think I did quite well with my picks? Does SportsMaven know his college hoops? You be the judge.

Grading the SportsMaven’s NCAA Basketball Tourney Picks

(AP Photo/Bill Kostroun)

Below are my picks, with the misses in bold:

Second Round: Florida, Arizona, Old Dominion, Maryland, Notre Dame, Oregon, Georgia Tech, Wisconsin, Kansas, Villanova, Virginia Tech, Southern Illinois, Duke, Pittsburgh, Gonzaga, UCLA, North Carolina, Michigan State, Arkansas, Texas, George Washington, Washington State, Boston College, Georgetown, Ohio State, Xavier, Tennessee, Virginia, Louisville, Texas A&M, Creighton, Memphis (Record: a very respectable 22-10)

Sweet 16: Florida, Old Dominion, Oregon, Wisconsin, Kansas, Southern Illinois, Pittsburgh, UCLA, North Carolina, Texas, George Washington, Georgetown, Ohio State, Tennessee, Texas A&M, Memphis (Record: a strong 12-4)

Elite Eight: Florida, Oregon, Southern Illinois, UCLA, North Carolina, Georgetown, Ohio State, Memphis (Record: a powerful 7-1)

Final Four: Florida, UCLA, Georgetown, Ohio State (Record: batting 1.000, 4-0)

National Championship Game: UCLA vs. Georgetown

National Champion: Georgetown

So through the Final Four, the SportsMaven is 45-15, for a winning percentage of 75%. I’d say that’s pretty good prognosticating for the NCAA Tourney, don’t you think?

3 Responses to “Grading the SportsMaven’s 2007 NCAA Basketball Tourney Picks”

  1. Law of Attraction

    Law of Attraction

  2. Rick said

    Wish I’d picked the earlier rounds as well as you. If I’d had the same Final Four, I’d have said Florida/Gtown. Not sure who I’d pick, probably Gtown.

    Still…you did a heckuva lot better than I did….

  3. stu said

    The Sports Maven knows his stuff.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2007/03/25/magazine/25baseball.t.html?_r=1&ref=magazine&oref=slogin

Leave a Reply

 
