Chicago Sports Inside and Out – The Chicago Sports Maven

Bringing Chicago sports to the world!

NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship: Who Do I Like?

Posted by sportsmaven on April 7, 2009

As the natural follow up to yesterday’s post on the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament (hint: who I like and who wins seldom cross paths these days) I have my pick for tonight’s NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship.  Now after last night’s debacle in choosing Michigan State over North Carolina, many are now wondering if I have the fortitude to choose the underdog yet again.  Remember, it’s either the University of Connecticut Lady Huskies or the University of Louisville Lady Cardinals.

(AP Photo/Mark Humphrey)

(AP Photo/Mark Humphrey)

Last year, as my daughter reminds me over and over again, I picked against University of Tennessee and they won.  This year, I’m tell you who I like and I think it will be no surprise to anybody:

I’m going with UConn to beat Louisville 78-60 in an all Big East National Championship final.  Louisville will keep it close with defense, but ultimately, the Lady Huskies will break it open, complete their undefeated season and their 6th National Championship, their first since 2004.

Last night I went for the sentimental underdog, the Michigan State Spartans, playing at home and I got blown out of the water by a very determined and talented North Carolina Tar Heels basketball team.  (The Spartans got blown out of the water and took me with them.)

Tonight — it’s all about the favorite, taking a tight game and turning it into an 18-point win.  University of Connecticut will be the 2008-09 Women’s National Champion in basketball.

Leave a Reply

 
